Tapeworms of the Mind

TapeWorms of the Mind

TapeWorms of the Mind

I finished reading Watering Heaven by Peter Tieryas Liu on the plane. Reading these stories was like crushing pomegranate kernels against the back of your teeth; like listening to pop music whilst popping popcorn; like dancing in a dark room with flashing strobe lights; like eating fresh sushi in a crowded mall. I think it is called “magical realism“? 

I enjoyed it. Especially the hungry tapeworms of the mind… Reviews and ratings  probably tell you more about the reviewer/critic than the writer or artist. Unless you do it for a living, as a job. 

(He has a blog.)

 

About michelledevilliersart

Dribbler, scribbler, dabbler, doodler, dreamer...
This entry was posted in #amreading, author, Illustration, short story, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tapeworms of the Mind

  1. Tieryas says:

    Reblogged this on The Whimsy of Creation: The Blog of Tieryas and commented:
    This is the most weirdly amazing and evocative review of Watering Heaven I’ve read. Please slap me awake =)

  2. Tieryas says:

    Amazing, thank you so much! I love the imagery you use. Forgive me now as the tapeworms in my brain have instructed me to share everywhere =)

  3. amommasview says:

    Sounds exciting and refreshing and yumm 😉

  4. Pottsy says:

    I love the artwork and your description is so awesome I’m going to have to check out the book now 🙂

Leave a Reply

