Horses I Have Known

I am still working on my horse portraits.

Sketch

Sketch (Hat Tip to Boerneef)

Horses I have known

Laika, moonsister, silver filly, gifthorse I did not get

be the girl grandchild instead

here’s Tombola, meanest red-eyed rooster ever spawned on the African soil

Granma will protect him

Granma will soon pass

Granpa will slaughter him

and marry again

Tinkerbell, vicious pony:

good for playing Touches, little biter, little kicker

your only interest on the outride is returning home

fighting all the way we go

glue-cling all the way back

Lesotho Numba One, poor nag

remembered for your girth galls

(and that mole-backed liar lover)

eclipsed by him who trotted on human feet in sympathy

light of my loss

Morgan,  dustcoat Morgan

who neighed and bucked

you almost broke my back

rearing at that paper bag

Talitha, urine medicine maker

your foal: dog food

I never rode again

I still like the music

Horses always make me think of the painting Guernica. I like what Picasso said:

…this bull is a bull and this horse is a horse… If you give a meaning to certain things in my paintings it may be very true, but it is not my idea to give this meaning. What ideas and conclusions you have got I obtained too, but instinctively, unconsciously. I make the painting for the painting. I paint the objects for what they are. (from Wikipedia article)
Rooiklei Os
Red Clay Oxen
About michelledevilliersart

Dribbler, scribbler, dabbler, doodler, dreamer...
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Horses I Have Known

  1. Pingback: A Killing | michelledevilliersartandstories

Leave a Reply

