Hear not, Speak not, See not…

Portrait of Constraints

Hear Not; See Not; Speak Not Acrylic, 24″x36″, Michelle de Villiers, CC

Of course, this is wrong: one should hear, see and speak out against evil…The follow-up painting Hear; See; Speak scared even me, so I won’t post that 🙂 I don’t have much time at the moment; I just grab little snippets of the slippery stuff– so, no new paintings. I am working on a couple of projects though.

Oxford Dictionary

Definition of Evil, via Wordflex App

My grandmother had these three exact monkeys on the sideboard in the dining room. I spent many a meal staring at them.

What is in a name? Being a curious and introspective child, I couldn’t help but wonder if my parents had not unfairly stacked the cosmos against my being angelic by virtue of the choice of my name and surname. The Beatles helped me escape the wicked psychological harm of those devil-spawn monikers, of course! (Or did it really? I have rather come to like the word devilish…though it’s given me many a problem– that is another story. Live and learn.)

English: The three wise monkeys, "See no ...

English: The three wise monkeys, “See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil” Gandhian advice to follow three monkeys – Don’t talk ‘wrong’, Don’t see ‘wrong, Don’t listen ‘wrong’! (Photo credit: Wikipedia) Gifu-kegonji5680

About michelledevilliersart

Dribbler, scribbler, dabbler, doodler, dreamer...
This entry was posted in acrylic, art, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hear not, Speak not, See not…

  1. Pingback: Schlemiel Spiel (NaPoWriMo#24) | michelledevilliersartandstories

Leave a Reply

